Jump to content

John O'Gorman,Chairman, ICOS Dairy Committee

The ICOS Dairy Committee has elected John O’Gorman as its new Chairman.

Mr. O’Gorman is a dairy farmer from Clogheen, Co. Tipperary and is Chairman of Dairygold Co-operative Society Ltd.  He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Accounting and Business Management and a Diploma in Corporate Direction, Food Business from UCC.

Mr O’ Gorman is a member of the ICOS Dairy Committee and Board since 2018. He replaces Peter Fleming as Dairy Committee Chairman following Mr. Fleming’s retirement from the Board of Ornua Co-operative Ltd. and also from the ICOS Board.

Speaking after his election as Chairman of the Dairy Committee John O’Gorman said: “I’m honoured to have been elected Chairman of the ICOS Dairy Committee at this pivotal time for the Irish dairy sector. We are in unprecedented times due to Covid-19, environmental sustainability challenges and with Brexit uncertainty firmly back on the agenda.”

“The requirements to produce safe, nutritious food with minimal environmental implications is one of the most pressing challenges facing the dairy sector with the publication in recent weeks of the new Programme for Government at National Level and the Farm to Fork Strategy at EU level.” 

“I am confident the dairy sector can rise to these challenges through the continued adoption of good, efficient farming practices, alongside our carbon efficient grass-based model of production, which is the cornerstone of the Irish dairy sector. Income volatility affecting primary producers and the implementation of the EU’s Veterinary Medicines Regulation are also important issues of concern to our members.”

Mr. O’Gorman concluded: “I am grateful to the members of the ICOS Dairy Committee for the confidence and trust they have shown in me today and I look forward to representing dairy farmers and their co-ops at this crucial time.  I would like to pay tribute to my predecessor Peter Fleming who served as Chairman with great energy and leadership.”

TJ Sullivan, Chairman of Carbery Group and Drinagh Co-operative Ltd replaces Peter Fleming as a member of the ICOS Dairy Committee and Board.

Eamonn Farrell – Agri-Food Policy Executive